Sign In

Neighbourhood Safer Places

Neighbourhood Safer Places


​​​Neighbourhood Safer Places


The 2009 Victorian Bushfire Royal Commission Interim report recommended that people need a range of options to increase their safety in the event of bushfire.

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) recommend that all people living in a bushfire prone area have a personal Bushfire Survival Plan. This document about Neighbourhood Safer Places (NSP) should be read in conjunction with the Bushfire Survival Plan guidelines.

When a bushfire threatens, whether your decision is to leave early or stay and defend your property, you should use an NSP only in the event that your Bushfire Survival Plan fails. In other words, an NSP is a place of last resort.

An NSP is a local open space or building where people may gather, as a last resort, to seek shelter from a bushfire. Use of an NSP may be your contingency plan when:

  • Your Bushfire Survival Plan has failed.
  • Your plan was to stay but the extent of the fire means that your home cannot withstand the impact of the fire and therefore your home is not a safe place to shelter.
  • The fire has escalated to an `extreme` or `catastrophic` level and voluntary evacuation is your safest option.

The main purpose of an NSP is to provide some level of protection to human life from the effects of a bushfire. Your NSP will not guarantee safety in all circumstances. The following limitations of an NSP need to be considered if you plan to use one as a last resort:

  • Firefighters may not be present, in the event that they will be fighting the main fire front elsewhere.
  • NSPs do not cater for animals or pets.
  • NSPs do not provide meals or amenities.
  • NSPs may not provide shelter from the elements, particularly flying embers.

If you are a person with special needs you should give consideration to what assistance you may require at an NSP.

Although QFES cannot guarantee an immediate presence during a bushfire, every effort will be made to provide support as soon as resources are available.

You should identify the travel time and distance to your identified NSP. You should include this information in your Bushfire Survival Plan. You should update your plan every year prior to the bushfire season and confirm that your identified NSP has not changed location. You should not drive through fire affected areas to get to your NSP

Click on your local government area below to view the designated NSP locations in your area. If there is not an NSP currently identified for your area, continue to monitor this site for updates.

Once you have arrived at your NSP (building) some actions to consider include:

  • Continually listen/seek/monitor further information in relation to the fire by whatever means of communication you may have (radio, mobile phone, internet, etc).
  • As fire approaches - ensure all doors and windows are sealed as best as possible.
  • When fire has passed - if safe to do so, check for fires and embers outside – extinguish if possible.
  • Remain vigilant for possible new fire fronts from other directions.
  • Once you have arrived at your NSP (open space), some actions to consider include:
  • Continually listen/seek/monitor further information in relation to the fire by whatever means of communication you may have (radio, mobile phone, internet etc)
  • As fire approaches - seek protection from radiant heat and embers as best you can. Attempt to cover any exposed skin with blankets/clothing. You should lie flat on the ground during the passage of the fire front.
  • Remain vigilant for possible new fire fronts from other directions.

Remember to complete your Bushfire Survival Plan to ensure that you and your family are prepared and know what to do in the event of a bushfire. For information about how to develop your own Bushfire Survival Plan click here.

Local Government Areas





Aurukun Shire Council

Balonne Shire Council
Banana Shire Council
Barcaldine Regional Council
Barcoo Shire Council
Blackall-Tambo Regional Council
Boulia Shire Council
Brisbane City Council
Bulloo Shire Council
Bundaberg Regional Council
Burdekin Shire Council
Burke Shire Council
Cairns Regional Council
Carpentaria Shire Council
Cassowary Coast Regional Council
Central Highlands Regional Council
Charters Towers Regional Council
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council
Cloncurry Shire Council
Cook Shire Council
Croydon Shire Council




Diamantina Shire Council
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council
Douglas Shire Council
Etheridge Shire CouncilFlinders Shire Council
Fraser Coast Regional Council




Gladstone Regional Council
Gold Coast City Council
Goondiwindi Regional Council
Gympie Regional Council
​Hinchinbrook Shire Council
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council
​Ipswich City Council
Isaac Regional Council




​Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council Livingstone Shire Council
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council
Lockyer Valley Regional Council
Logan City Council
Longreach Regional Council




Mackay Regional Council
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council
Mareeba Shire Council
Maranoa Regional Council
McKinlay Shire Council
Moreton Bay Regional Council
Mornington Shire Council
Mount Isa City Council
Murweh Shire Council
Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council
Noosa Shire Council
North Burnett Regional Council
Northern Pennisula Area Regional Council




Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council
Paroo Shire Council
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council​
Quilpie Shire Council ​Redland City Council
Richmond Shire Council
Rockhampton Regional Council




​Scenic Rim Regional Council
Somerset Regional Council
South Burnett Regional Council
Southern Downs Regional Council
Sunshine Coast Regional Council
​Tablelands Regional Council
Toowoomba Regional Council
Torres Shire Council
Torres Strait Island Regional Council
Townsville City Council




Weipa Town Authority
Western Downs Regional Council
Whitsunday Regional Council
Winton Shire Council
Woorabinda Aborginal Shire Council
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council



​Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council